Collaborations with the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation:

VET graduate employment barometer

The VET graduate employment barometer casts light on the development of the job market for those graduating from vocational educational and training (dual-track apprenticeship, full-time school-based vocational training, vocational certificate without apprenticeship), who are looking for a job for the first time after completing their education and training. The main question here is how unemployment, the labour situation and job availability change both in the short and longer term. On the one hand, the results of the barometer show that vocational education and training continue to have a strong ‘protective effect’ against unemployment. On the other hand, however, those entering the labour market for the first time today face notably higher hurdles than 10 years ago, because of the increasingly high job requirements.

The VET graduate employment barometer is based on a commission from the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (up to 2012: Federal Office for Professional Education and Technology) and is updated annually.

Short reports available for download as PDFs (available in German and French):

Arbeitsmarktperspektiven von Fachkräften (PDF, 2765 KB)

Berufseinstiegs-Barometer 2012 (PDF, 548 KB)

Baromètre des jeunes arrivant sur le marché du travail après une formation professionnelle initiale 2012 (PDF, 857 KB)

Berufseinsteiger-Barometer 2011 (PDF, 646 KB)

Baromètre des jeunes arrivant sur le marché du travail 2011 (PDF, 703 KB)

Berufseinsteiger-Barometer 2010 (PDF, 470 KB)

Baromètre des jeunes arrivant sur le marché du travail 2010 (PDF, 394 KB)

Full version (with additional analyses and detailed information on methods):

Full version of the VET graduate employment barometer 2010 (German) (PDF, 838 KB)

Berufs-Informations-System Schweiz (BISS): an occupational information system for Switzerland

The BISS is a PC-based information system allowing the user to independently answer questions about employment prospects and qualifications/skills required for individual occupations, on the basis of the information and software available in the system. It was commissioned by the Federal Office for Professional Education and Technology (BBT) and developed under the direction of the Labour Economics and Industrial Organization research centre at the University of Basel (FAI, Prof. Dr. George Sheldon), in collaboration with the Swiss Job Market Monitor (research group of Prof. Dr. Marlis Buchmann, University of Zurich), rhConsulting (Rheinfelden) and Jacques Babel (Federal Statistical Office). It is freely available to anyone interested in this topic.

For further information and the option to download the BISS, go to the  website of the FAI.

Kooperationen mit dem Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation:

Berufseinstiegs-Barometer

Das Berufseinsteiger-Barometer beleuchtet die Entwicklung des Arbeitsmarkts für Absolventen beruflicher Grundbildungen (duale Berufslehre, vollzeitschulische Berufsausbildung, Berufsattest oder Anlehre), die sich nach dem Ausbildungsabschluss erstmals auf Stellensuche begeben. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Frage, wie sich Arbeitslosigkeit, Erwerbssituation und Stellenangebot sowohl kurz- als auch längerfristig verändern. Die Ergebnisse des Barometers weisen auf der einen Seite darauf hin, dass eine berufliche Grundbildung unverändert eine starke ′Schutzwirkung′ gegen Arbeitslosigkeit entfaltet. Auf der anderen Seite treffen die Absolventen beim erstmaligen Übertritt in den Arbeitsmarkt wegen der wachsenden Stellenanforderungen heute aber auf merklich höhere Hürden als noch vor 10 Jahren.

Das Berufseinsteiger-Barometer beruht auf einem Auftrag des Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (bis 2012: Bundesamt für Berufsbildung und Technologie) und wird jährlich aktualisiert.

Kurzreports als Pdf-Download:

Arbeitsmarktperspektiven von Fachkräften (PDF, 2765 KB)

Berufseinstiegs-Barometer 2012 (PDF, 548 KB)

Baromètre des jeunes arrivant sur le marché du travail après une formation professionnelle initiale 2012 (PDF, 857 KB)

Berufseinsteiger-Barometer 2011 (PDF, 646 KB)

Baromètre des jeunes arrivant sur le marché du travail 2011 (PDF, 703 KB)

Berufseinsteiger-Barometer 2010 (PDF, 470 KB)

Baromètre des jeunes arrivant sur le marché du travail 2010 (PDF, 394 KB)

Ausführliche Version (mit zusätzlichen Auswertungen und methodischen Detailangaben):

Berufseinsteiger-Barometer ausführlich 2010 (deutsch) (PDF, 838 KB)

Berufs-Informations-System Schweiz (BISS)

Das BISS ist ein PC-gestütztes Informationssystem, das dem Benutzer erlaubt, auf der Basis der im System vorhandenen Informationen und Software Fragen bezüglich der Beschäftigungsaussichten und den Qualifikationsanforderungen einzelner Berufe selbständig zu beantworten. Es ist im Auftrag des Bundesamtes für Berufsbildung und Technologie (BBT) unter der Leitung der Forschungsstelle für Arbeitsmarkt- und Industrieökonomik der Universität Basel (FAI, Prof. Dr. George Sheldon) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Stellenmarkt-Monitor am Lehrstuhl von Prof. Dr. Marlis Buchmann (Universität Zürich), rhConsulting (Rheinfelden) und Jacques Babel (Bundesamt für Statistik) entwickelt worden und steht jedem Interessenten frei zur Verfügung.

Weitere Informationen und die Möglichkeit, das BISS herunterzuladen, findeen sich auf der Webseite der FAI.