Scientific Use File

Swiss Job Market Monitor's Data as a Scientific Use File

Thanks to the generous support from the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), the data base of the Swiss Job Market Monitor is available for scientific research and teaching within an academic framework as a scientific use file.

The Swiss Job Market Monitor (SJMM, www.stellenmarktmonitor.uzh.ch) is devoted to a systematic monitoring and analysis of the Swiss labor market. For this purpose, SJMM has compiled a dataset of job openings in the Swiss economy dating back to 1950. The dataset is based on representative samples of job advertisements drawn from all advertising channels that are relevant at the given time.

In 2001, the project switched from its original retrospective survey design to a fully compatible prospective monitoring of the job market that also covers online advertising media. In addition, the initial limitation of the ad survey to German-speaking Switzerland was expanded to cover all of Switzerland from 2001 on.

In the course of the ad survey, the complete ad text is first recorded to enable text-based as well as qualitative analyses of the development of job openings. Second, the information provided in the job ads on the requirements and characteristics of the job openings, the person wanted, and the business placing the job ad are recorded and prepared for quantitative statistical analyses.

The database created in this manner thus opens a multitude of new opportunities for qualitative and quantitative social scientific analyses of both long-term and current trends in the Swiss labor market. This obviously applies to developments in the volume and structure of job openings and the skills demand in the Swiss economy. Yet its potential goes far beyond by offering a much wider range of opportunities for research once the SJMM data are combined with data from other sources (TREE, SAKE, and others more).

The fully documented data are available at FORS (catalogue of projects and data or directly here). An overview of methods and results can be found under research. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any further questions. The SJMM Team is happy to support you in your research projects.

Scientific Use File

Daten des Stellenmarkt-Monitors als Scientific Use File

Mit Unterstützung des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) konnte die Datenbasis des Stellenmarkt-Monitor als Scientific Use File für wissenschaftliche Forschung und Lehre in akademischen Institutitionen zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Die bis 1950 zurückreichende jährliche Erhebungsreihe zum Stellenangebot des Schweizer Arbeitsmarkts basiert auf repräsentativen Zufallsstichproben von Stelleninseraten die jeweils alle zu einem gegebenen Zeitpunkt bedeutenden Inserierungskanäle abdecken. Die ursprüngliche Retrospektiv-Erhebung von Presseinseraten wurde 2001 nahtlos in ein prospektives Monitoring unter Einschluss von Online-Medien überführt. Die zu Beginn auf die deutschsprachige Schweiz beschränkten Erhebungen sind ab 2001 stets gesamtschweizerisch durchgeführt worden.

Das Scientific Use File umfasst erstens die Inserate im Volltext und ermöglich so textbasierte, auch qualitative Analysen. Zweitens sind die in den Inseratetexten enthaltenen Angaben zu den Anforderungen und Merkmalen der ausgeschriebenen Stelle, zur gesuchten Person und zum inserierenden Unternehmen mittels standardisierter Verfahren erfasst und so für quantitative statistische Analysen aufbereitet.

Die geschaffene Datenbasis eröffnet somit qualitativ und quantitativ arbeitenden Sozialwissenschaftlern vielfältige neue Möglichkeiten zur Analyse langfristiger wie aktueller Entwicklungen im Schweizer Arbeitsmarkt. Dies gilt offensichtlich für Entwicklungen im Umfang und Struktur des Stellenangebots und des Qualifikationsbedarfs der Schweizer Wirtschaft. Darüber hinaus eröffnet sich ein breites Spektrum von neuen Forschungsmöglichkeiten, sobald die SMM-Datenbasis mit Daten aus anderen Quellen (TREE, SAKE, usw.) verknüpft wird.

Die vollumfänglich dokumentierten Daten sind bei FORS über den Datenkatalog zugänglich oder direkt hier. Eine Übersicht zu Methoden und bisherigen Ergebnissen des Stellenmarkt-Monitors finden Sie unter Forschung. Das SMM-Team erteilt gerne auch Auskünfte und unterstützt Forschende bei ihren Analysevorhaben.